General Information

Official Name Republic of Armenia
Geographic Coordinates 40.0 North, 45.0 East
Location Middle East (Transcaucasia)
Territory Total – 29,800 square kilometres
Land – 28 400 square kilometres
Water – 1,400 square kilometres
Land boundaries Total: 1,254 square kilometres.
Border countries: Azerbaijan 787 km, Georgia 164 km, Iran 35 km, Turkey
268 km
Coastline Landlocked
Terrain Armenian Highland with mountains; little forest land; fast flowing rivers and natural lakes
Elevation extremes Most of the territory lays on 900-1500 metre above sea level with: lowest point: Debed River – 400 m 
highest point: Aragats Lernagagat – 4,090 m
Climate Highland continental, relatively hot summers and cold winters
Political System Parlamental
Independence Declared (from Soviet Union) 21 September 1991
Administrative Territorial Division 10 provinces
Capital City Yerevan (population 1.1 of million)
Population 3.2 million
Ethnicity Armenian 93%, Russian 2%, other (mostly Yezidi Kurds) 4%.
Languages Armenian – official language. Russian largely spoken, English widely spoken in Tourist and Service Sector.
Religion Christian – Armenian Apostolic 94%, other Christian 4%, Yezidi (Zoroastrian/animist) 2%.
Economy Liberal Market
Currency Dram (AMD), Exchange rate 478 AMD – 1 US$, 535 AMD – 1 EURO
Electricity Voltage and Frequency AC 220 V, 50 Hz
Time GMT + 4 hrs
Armenian Embassies, Consulates And Representations For up-to-date information on Armenian embassies, consulates and representations please visit the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ web site and look up its Embassies web page.
Visa Requirements Please see all the necessary information here: